I have lots of framed artwork on my walls. It’s been pointed out to me that nearly all of it is farm related. It was not a conscious decision, but it seems that art has to include a barn, a cow, or both to make the cut here. I thought I’d share some of my favorites today.

Artist: Sue Skowronski

Artist: Sue Skowronski

The print above is by a local artist, Sue Skowronski. I really admire her work and wish I could afford to have more! I got this one several years ago at a silent auction fundraiser at the Illinois Farm Bureau annual meeting. “Hey, it’s a fundraiser, for a good cause”; always my justification for spending a little more than I should. In my opinion Sue gets cows “right”. Plenty of artists try and fail, I think it’s the angularity of the head.

Artist: Kurt Kamholz

Artist: Kurt Kamholz

The painting above is by another local artist, Kurt Kamholz. I bought this one at a fundraiser for The Land Conservancy of McHenry County a couple of years ago. Love the colors and technique.

Antique print

Antique print

The print above is an antique, by an unknown artist, picked up somewhere in my travels. It was inexpensive, in a cheap gold frame, but I love it nonetheless. I have many older prints like this all over the house.

IMG_20131114_085925_500

Here’s another antique; this one is actually an advertising piece in glass with a gold tone chain around it. It’s not on a wall but sitting in a plate holder type thing on top of an old oak secretary. I think it’s beautiful, and different.

So there’s a sampling of the farm art that’s all over my house. Did I mention that I also collect cow creamers? There are a couple hundred of those around too. A little excessive? You bet!

Interested in learning who else is participating in the 30 days blog challenge or the five things Holly Spangler will be talking about this month? Head over to Prairie Farmer to find out!

